Coytoe: the Outlander by Chantal Noordeloos

Coyote: the Outlander- Chantal Noorderloos

Reviewed by Brittany Jimenez

 

 

 The year is 1869. No one knows where or when the rips will appear, but they do, and from them, Outlanders walk the earth. Coyote travels the territories with Caesar, her mysterious partner in the bounty hunter business, and together they confront these alien threats to humanity. Along the way, Coyote discovers a secret that threatens to shatter everything she believes about herself, her father, and her sworn enemy, James Westwood.

 

Overview from website (coyotethebooks.com)

 

 

 I have to admit, before starting this book I was doubtful I would like it. I know the saying, “Don’t judge a book by its cover,” but I do everytime and this was one of my victims. The cover shows a western era and a steam-punk badass with blonde braids, a bowler hat, a lit cigar, and a nice pair of knee high boots. The illustration is definitely intriguing, but I was skeptical. I decided to open the book anyway and I sure am glad that I did.

 

 As a female, I tend to favor female rolls that constantly defy stereotypes. As was the case with Ms. Coyote here. She’s cunning, witty, sarcastic, loyal, and beautiful.  I also love that Chantal Noorderloos made this young woman very relatable. Something else I look for in fanatsy novels. Coyote is no stranger to heartache, doubt, or misfortune, yet she continues to perservere.

 

 The alien vs. cowboy theme was a bit hard to grasp at first because I doubted the author would be able to keep the story line from seeming too far-fetched. Again I was glad I kept reading because Chantal Noorderloos lit a fire under my imagination pot and had my mind stewing with possibilites before I even reached the next page. This is NOT your typical, cheesy sci-fi fiction. Yes, at first glance it has a lot going on and for any other author, I would expect the elements in this book to be all over the place, but Chantal Noorderloos has found a harmony with these characters and the reality she has created that is hard to come by in a world bored with imagination. This book is a great read for anyone willing to trade their reality for another.

 

 You like westerns? Read it. You like aliens? Read it. You like strong heroines? Read it. You like misunderstood villains? Read it. Seriously, step out of your comfort zone and read the story that defies genres.  

Leave a Reply

