Piercing the Fold by Venessa Kimball (reviewed by Karmin)

Piercing the Fold

Book 1 of Piercing the Fold series *

Venessa Kimball

Reviewed by Karmin

Book description (amazon.com):

“I’m Jesca. I have intense nightmares nightly and hallucinations of dark auras closing in on me daily. Strangers’ faces distort before my eyes and I hear voices in my head. All symptoms of insanity, ‘illusions in reality’, right? Wrong. This is my reality and it has been set askew.”

Jesca Gershon Sera discovers that she is part of a legacy and a fellowship of guardians destined to protect the human race from a galactic event that will invade and evolve our world.

*The Piercing the Fold series is intended for Mature Young Adult and Adult readers due to the the paranormal and unorthodox scientific concepts addressed throughout. This series contains a rich mixture of the paranormal, science fiction, romance, adventure, and suspense. *

Review:

I had trouble with this book. I wanted to love it, but I couldn’t. I’m not a huge fan of in-the-moment- first-person, so that is entirely personal opinion, but Kimball did switch between that and in-the-moment-third-person from time to time and it threw me off a bit. Another thing that messed with me are the physics principles she put into this book. Kimball obviously did her research, but some of the things just resonated as “wrong” (for lack of a better term) with my brain (this is not because I didn’t know what she was talking about, but rather because I DID know what she was trying to say), but I do think that had she been a bit more vague on the scientific detail, it would have worked better.

As for the story itself, it’s a cool one. You have your kickass powers, psychic-style dreaming, good vs evil, and inter-world travels. Toss in some love the characters refuse to acknowledge and possible alien invasion and it makes it fun. In all honesty, it’s NOT a TERRIBLE book whatsoever, just the few things that I personally didn’t like about it made it difficult for me to enjoy. If I were rating this book, I would give it a 4/10.

 

**Edited to add links

Before reading this book, here are a few theories to read up on (even if they are on Wiki) to help understand what the author is trying to put across (These are an afterthought of the review, and may help get a better grasp on the theories she puts forth).

Alcubierre drive http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alcubierre_drive

Einstein-Rosen Bridge http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wormhole#Schwarzschild_wormholes

Negative mass http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negative_mass

Leave a Reply

